Home of the Not So Brave

What makes me so afraid of the future of our country is not what exactly Donald Trump will do as President of the United States, not the fact that I’ll find myself in a void of student loan debt in five years, but rather how we as Americans are taking the election.

Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton were controversial candidates this election season, having trudged their way through the primary season with colossal baggage attributed by the public. To me and to so many other people, they weren’t our first choices for President (in fact, neither were on my mental list for candidates to support). They’ve screwed up in the past, and they’ve said and done all sorts of nonsense during this election season. There’s a fact that we can’t deny, though — Clinton and Trump are incredibly strong people. They don’t give up even after their monumental mishaps.

I did not support either major candidate for president, and I refuse to defend either Clinton or president-elect Trump, but I maintain that the scary part of the election and its results is not a scenario of Trump’s first 100 days in office (since the government’s about as fast as a low-energy snail, and Republicans in Congress have their own reservations towards Trump) — it’s how we as Americans are taking the results of this election.

I know this was one of the most controversial election cycles in U.S. history. I know how disgusted so many Americans are feeling. I felt disgusted, too. And that’s okay. What’s not okay is that our country holds a fair election and a large chunk of the constituency vehemently rejects the results, with some people going as far as to burn the flag of our nation. It appalls me to see just how divisive we have become.

The dystopian pandemonium Americans have fostered since the presidential election ended disturbs me. I can’t sleep tonight.

7 thoughts on “Home of the Not So Brave

  1. I agree Barbara. It’s up to people like you and me to help bring a higher level of conversation with listening, understanding and looking for the common ground so that we might work together for a better country. Thanks, Brad. Together we rise!

    Like

  2. I think many of us agree with your sentiments. For all its faults it was the result of an established democratic process, even with only a 56% turnout. In the end, whoever won was going to have around half the country hating them. It’s not Trump we should be afraid of, but rather the rift he has exposed, and what will come after he has gone. We need to ask ourselves why did so many people feel so angry and disenfranchised that they had to vote for someone with such a bigoted, narcissistic persona? Not all his “supporters” are ignorant or bigoted, some are just fed up. Trump is just an extremely blunt tool used to rage against the system.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yesterday I dropped by a college students blog and he wrote about the protest of students against trump and all the name calling using the F word and calling Trump fascist and worst. I just made a simple comment that he did win fair and square, that you do live in a democracy and you had 8 years of a very left progressive president, and that Trump hasn´t even started to govern, so at least give the man a chance.
    I also suggested that instead of skipping class and start a protest that you can only hear a lot of mean and insulting words coming out of their mouths that maybe now that he is president and you can´t change that, they could use their time more productively like making a new thinktank or something like that, something that attacks his policies, go against his policies but not a character slaying of the person. And man, did I got a response by all this so called tolerant liberals, at one time I thought I might even have to move to the north pole so they won´t track me down and kill me, that or buy a gun. They got angry these ones, I´m glad they are the ones saying that they are tolerant, I don´t want to see them when they are not tolerant.

    Not easy to have a discussion with people that are irrational driven by a great sense of hatred.

    At least here in this post you seem like a rational person that I might not completely agree with your positions in some issues but we can have a discussion, plus I´m a great joker. Those people have to do some yoga.
    Anyways, It was a good read this post, so if you don´t mind I´ll stick around and doing what I have famously coined “my cool stalker moves”

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Those who are demonstrating against the outcome of this election are expressing their fundamental First Amendment right to dissent. If you apply disapproval to dissent, by that way of thinking, then the ciil rights movement might not have happened. People are understandably upset because the winner of the popular vote is not the president elect. The fore fathers created the Electoral College because they did not trust the ‘common’ man to elect the ‘right’ candidate and wanted to ensure their imprint on the new country would remain. Evolutionary change can be painful. While we consider ourselves a democracy, we are a hybrid combining democracy with being a republic. It’s complicated and it’s not the majority rules which people don’t fully understand in this context. So long as the demonstrations are peaceful and do not vandalize, I hope they continue and are allowed. That thought is not because I supported HRC or DJT, it’s based on the principles that remain at the foundation of this country. My wish is that those objecting so strongly to the new president will stay engaged in the process of change and keep all elected officials accountable to the people they were elected by for their public service.
    P.S. Thank you for swinging by the “Ranch,” we 💙 visitors.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. While I am seeing a lot of heartache and bafflement online, I also see a lot of people who aren’t going to accept the hate and violence from either side. I’m just going to post kitten pictures as I’m not actually living in the US anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

